Motor Insurance

The department issues Liability only policy and packaged policy cover for vehicles.
There are four types of motor policies:

  1. Private car policy
  2. Commercial Vehicle policy
  3. Goods carrying vehicle policy
  4. Special Vehicle policy

All vehicles owned by Board, Corporation, Local self Government offices and other organisations where the financial stoke of state government is more than 26% are insured by the department.
Government vehicles are exempted from motor insurance by Motor Vehicles Act 1988.